Heretic

2017-02-19-heretic3

Heretic

I long ago decided:
church is not for me.
God is a feeling,

and the feeling of
God leads me out of
any church I step into.

As a child whenever
I sang in church I felt
like swooping or

hovering beneath the
church rafters, there to
fill the congregation

with a sense of glory
but having too soon
to sit in pews while

the pastor led no one
anywhere near still
waters and only kept us

away from any green
pasture. Now, I prefer
the uncut trees to rafters,

sunlight to a steeple
and the widespread
wildflowers to

congregations huddled
as if for warmth even
on summer days.

God is a feeling,
and the feeling of
God leads me out

of any church I step
into to walk toward
the open horizon:

the one churches prefer
to cover over with
walls and a book.

2017-02-19-heresy2

Leave a Reply

